Words of wisdom from Don Cherry

Some love him and a number of people can’t stand to hear his name. He’s Don Cherry. Known for his patriotism, the suits he wears and of course his outspoken manners. Before Hockey Night in Canada’s Coach’s Corner segment he played one game in the playoffs in 1955 for the Boston Bruins and ended up coaching them from 1974 to 1979. He won the Jack Adams award for the 1975-1976 season.

Let’s relive some of the words of wisdom from the most colorful commentator in the NHL today.

“I look around and I wish sometimes I could just walk into a building and be like any other coach, but I can’t and I realize that. I have to be Don Cherry to the kids who go to the games. I think I owe it to them to sign autographs.”(Cherry on being a celebrity)

“I consider my style that of the men of the 1930s, where men had an elegant style, tight suits, tight collars, lots of jewelry, a clean sharp image. I must admit my style has been called foppish, but I like it.” (Cherry on his style of clothing)

“I died on May 10, 1979; at 11:10 p.m. to be exact. Two shots killed me. The first, which left me critically wounded, was fired by Guy Lafleur. The one that wiped me out came from the stick of Yvon Lambert. Had I survived these attacks I have no doubt that I would still be coach of the Boston Bruins today and, quite likely, governor of Massachusetts.” (From Grapes: A Vintage View of Hockey)

“It’s always been a part of the game. The fans love fighting. The players don’t mind. The coaches like the fights. What’s the big deal?”

“If it keeps going like this, the Zamboni driver is going to be the first star.” (Uttered during Cherry’s rookie season as a commentator)

“I don’t have any hobbies. I don’t golf. I don’t fish. I have no other interests in life except hockey.”

“Hockey is Canada, Canada is hockey; where else would you find fans like these?!”

“What’s the point of being neutral? I am never neutral!”

“Anybody who says they don’t like fighting in the NHL have to be out of their minds.”

~ by Hockey Ink on October 28, 2008.

Leave a comment